Flicker Tale Award

2021 Flicker Tale Nominees

Younger Readers


  • Fry Bread: a Native American Family Story by Kevin Noble Maillard, illus. by Juana Martinez-Neal
  • The Proudest Blue: a Story of Hijab and Family by Iftihaj Muhammad with S.K. Ali, illus. Hatem Aly
  • Magic Ramen: the Story of Momofuku Ando by Andrea Wang, illus. Kana Urbanowicz
  • The Day You Begin by Jacqueline Woodson, illus. by Rafeal López


Middle Readers


  • Prairie Lotus by Linda Sue Park
  • The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise by Dan Gemeinhart
  • Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga
  • Ways to Make Sunshine by Renée Watson


Older Readers


  • The Radium Girls: the Scary But True Story of the Poison that Made People Glow in the Dark by Kate Moore
  • The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan
  • Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You by Jason Reynolds and Ibram X. Kendi
  • They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera



Voting Procedures:

The Flicker Tale Committee has chosen books for three categories. Readers will not be restricted to any category based on age or grade level. Rather, we hope the categories will encourage children to read books of their choice at a particular interest or ability level. We encourage all of the young people (and the not-so-young people) to read the books and vote in any category they choose. Librarians do not have to vote on every category. Just the books they read to the students or the books they know the students have read. Each participating school and library is responsible for following the procedures, tallying votes and submitting totals to the Flicker Tale Chair by the deadline. All ballots are due by April 30th, 2021.


How to Vote:

Participating librarians should:

      1) Read each of the books in the appropriate category.

      2) Have the children vote for their book of choice.

      3) Tally the votes for each book.

      4) Send the totals by April 30th, 2020 to:Amber Emery
Fargo Public Library
102 3rd Street North
Fargo, ND 58102

Or e-mail:

Amber Emery
[email protected]

      5) At any time, send your suggestions for nominations for next year’s Flicker Tale Awards to the above address.

      Thank you for your participation!


2020 Flicker Tale Award Winner

This year due to library closures in March, we only received enough votes to award a winner in the Younger Readers category.


Our winner this year is We Don’t Eat Our Classmates by Ryan T. Higgins.

Thank you to everyone who encouraged their students to read the nominees and vote for their favorites!

 If there is a book that you or your students believe should be considered for any of the categories, please feel free to submit the book information using the Flicker Tale Nomination Form.

Further Info:

The Flicker Tale Award is sponsored by the ND Library Association and administered by the SLAYS (School Libraries And Youth Services) division of that organization. If you would like Flickertale Award stickers for your library books, please contact Amber Emery at [email protected]. The Flicker Tale committee is currently working on nominees for 2021. If there is a book that you, or your students, believe should be considered for any of the categories, please feel free to send the title and author information to the committee.