Library Champion Award

Deadline - May 31st


This citation is awarded by the NDLA Legislative Committee to an individual in a federal, state, city, or county leadership position who has supported and/or advocated for a library or libraries in North Dakota.

Nomination Procedure:

To nominate an individual, send a letter of nomination to the NDLA Legislative Committee Chair. Letters of nomination must include specific reasons for nomination, including examples of how the person has advocated for libraries.

Further Information:

  • The Library Champion Award winner will be profiled in The Good Stuff and will receive a commemorative plaque.
  • Recognition of the recipient is made during the NDLA Award Banquet at the annual NDLA conference.
  • Need an advocacy how-to? Click HERE and learn more on the NDLA Legislative Information page!


Past Recipients:

2019: Minot Public Library Library Board. 

2017: Senator Ray Holmberg - District 17, Grand Forks; Representative Alisa Mitskog - District 25, Wahpeton; Representative Corey Mock - District 18, Grand Forks

 Left to right - Ray Holmberg, Mary Soucie, Alisa Mitskog, Janet Anderson, Christine Kujawa, and Cory Mock

Entity Responsible:

NDLA Legislative Committee Chair

Janet Anderson
Library Director
Minot Public Library


Further Information for Award Administrators

Nominations are due to the Legislative Committee chair by May 31st each year. Once received, the Legislative Committee reviews and selects a winner. The chair will then contact the winner.