Flicker Tale Award

The Flicker Tale Award is sponsored by the ND Library Association and administered by the SLAYS (School Libraries And Youth Services) division of that organization. If you would like Flickertale Award stickers for your library books, please contact Amber Emery at [email protected].

2019 Flicker Tale Award winners!


Picture Book The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors by Drew Daywalt

Early Reader (formerly Intermediate category) Noodleheads See the Future by Tedd Arnold

Fiction Refugee by Alan Gratz

Nonfiction Earth! My First 4.54 Billion Years by Stacy McAnulty

Young Adult Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds


Thank you to everyone who encouraged their students to read the nominees and vote for their favorites!


The Flicker Tale committee are currently working on nominees for 2020. If there is a book that you or your students believe should be considered for any of the categories, please feel free to send the title and author information to the committee.


Voting Procedures

Note, voting is closed for the year 2019.  The Flicker Tale Committee has chosen books for four categories. Readers will not be restricted to any category based on age or grade level. Rather, we hope the categories will encourage children to read books of their choice at a particular interest or ability level. We encourage all of the young people (and the not-so-young people) to read the books and vote in any category they choose. Librarians do not have to vote on every category. Just the books they read to the students or the books they know the students have read. Each participating school and library is responsible for following the procedures, tallying votes and submitting totals to the Flicker Tale Chair by the deadline. All ballots are due by April 1st.


2019 Flicker Tale Ballot.


Participating librarians should:

  1. Read each of the books in the appropriate category.
  2. Have the children vote for their book of choice.
  3. Tally the votes for each book.
  4. Send the totals by April 1, 2019 to: Mail to:
    Amber Emery
    Fargo Public Library
    102 3rd Street North
    Fargo, ND 58102

Or e-mail to:

Amber Emery
[email protected]
5.  At any time send your suggestions for nominations for next year’s Flicker Tale Awards to the above address.

Thank you for your participation!




You may view past Flicker Tale Award Nominees at this link.