Menu
Log in

E.D.I.

Resource List

Log in

Purpose

This is a living document, intended to be updated regularly, that provides openly available resources for developing understanding and empathy and serves as a starting point for learning and discussion about equity, diversity, and inclusion.

Call For Resources

The NDLA EDI Committee welcomes member suggestions for additions to this list! As a relatively new committee, we recognize the sensation of not knowing where to start. It is our hope that this list of resources can be a starting point in our collective journey toward equitable, diverse, and inclusive libraries. If you have personal or institutional lists of resources, or can recommend individual resources, please send them to the EDI Committee members listed below. Any NDLA member is welcome to submit resources for inclusion in this list. Resources will be posted on the committee’s section of the NDLA website.

Some guidelines:

     Resources can be in any format--books, videos, websites, podcasts, webinars, etc.--but should be freely available or easily obtainable through library collections.

     We will consider resources related to any aspect of EDI work and any visible or invisible expression of identity.

     Resources do not have to be library-focused.

 

Send resources to:

     Amanda Walch, amanda.walch@uj.edu

     Jessica Gilbert Redman, j.gilbertredman@und.edu

     Karlene Clark, karlene.clark@und.edu

General resources/compilations

     Anti-racism Resources for All Ages: https://padlet.com/nicolethelibrarian/nbasekqoazt336co

     Disrupting Whiteness in Libraries and Librarianship: A Reading List  https://www.library.wisc.edu/gwslibrarian/bibliographies/disrupting-whiteness-in-libraries/

     Racial Equity Tools resources list: https://www.racialequitytools.org/resources/fundamentals/resource-list/resource-lists

 

Resource Lists from ND Libraries

     State Library Niche Academy - Inclusion, Diversity, Equality & Accessibility videos: https://my.nicheacademy.com/northdakotastatelibrary?category=10042

     NDSU Anti-Racist Teaching and Learning Resources: https://library.ndsu.edu/search-find/research/research-assistance/anti-racist-resources

 

Resources/Toolkits from other Libraries and Library Associations

     Oregon Library Association EDI Antiracism Toolkit: https://www.oregon.gov/Library/libraries/Documents/OLA%20EDI%20Toolkit/OLA_TOOLKIT_Digital_Copy%202021_02_11.pdf

     Oregon Library Association EDI Antiracism Committee Training Resources: https://ola.memberclicks.net/ola-edi-antiracism-committee-training-resources

     Simmons University Library Anti-Oppression Guide: https://simmons.libguides.com/anti-oppression

     American Library Association’s EDI website: https://www.ala.org/advocacy/diversity

     ACRL’s Racial Justice and Higher Education LibGuide: https://acrl.libguides.com/EDI/he

     University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill University Libraries’ 21-Day Racial Equity Challenge (21 days of readings, reflection, and activities): https://indd.adobe.com/view/bdf6ae66-fcb3-40af-badb-6dd57b28525e

 

Land Acknowledgment Resources

     https://nativegov.org/a-guide-to-indigenous-land-acknowledgment/

     https://native-land.ca/ (interactive map)

 

Examples:

UND: https://und.edu/student-life/diversity/multicultural/land-acknowledgement.html

NDSU: https://www.ndsu.edu/inclusioncouncil/native_american_initiatives/

NDSCS: https://www.ndscs.edu/current-students/wellness-safety/diversity-ndscs/land-acknowledgement

 

 

Videos/Webinars/Conference Sessions

     Twanna Hodge at NASIG, “The Future of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Librarianship”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YJWbQDBERaY

 

 

White Privilege

     “White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack”: https://nationalseedproject.org/Key-SEED-Texts/white-privilege-unpacking-the-invisible-knapsack

 

 

Intersectionality

     Origin (article by Kimberlé Crenshaw in a legal journal, 1989): https://chicagounbound.uchicago.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1052&context=uclf

     What is Intersectionality? (by the originator, Kimberlé Crenshaw): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ViDtnfQ9FHc

 

 

Inclusive Language

     Conscious Style Guide: https://consciousstyleguide.com/

     Identity First language https://autisticadvocacy.org/about-asan/identity-first-language/

     Pronouns / Gender Identity Terms https://www.npr.org/2021/06/02/996319297/gender-identity-pronouns-expression-guide-lgbtq

     For another perspective on pronouns, see also: https://publicseminar.org/essays/the-performance-of-transgender-inclusion/

     Citing Indigenous Elders: https://news.library.ualberta.ca/blog/2022/01/27/citing-indigenous-elders-and-knowledge-keepers/

 

 

Children’s Literature

     Diversify Our Narrative: https://www.diversifyournarrative.com/ (lesson plans, reading lists, guides, templates, etc.; also on Instagram)

     American Indians in Children’s Literature (Debbie Reese): https://americanindiansinchildrensliterature.blogspot.com/

     Diverse Bookfinder: https://diversebookfinder.org/

     Melanin Library: https://www.melaninlibrary.com/ (not just children’s/YA)

     Ten Tips for Selecting Multicultural Books for Reading Instruction: https://www.k12reader.com/ten-tips-for-selecting-multicultural-books-for-reading-instruction/

 

 

Resources for Educators

     “Let’s Talk: Facilitating Critical Conversations with Students” from Learning for Justice (formerly Teaching Tolerance): https://www.learningforjustice.org/magazine/publications/lets-talk

 

 

Bystander Intervention

     5 D’s of Bystander Intervention (from Right to Be, formerly Hollaback): https://righttobe.org/guides/bystander-intervention-training/

 

 

Organizational Culture

     Awake to Woke to Work https://equityinthecenter.org/aww/

 

 

Ableism & Invisible Disability

     Invisible Illness — What You Can’t See Does Hurt Her https://www.socialworktoday.com/archive/novdec2007p18.shtml

     Supporting people with invisible illness:  https://www.nwpc.com/supporting-people-with-invisible-illness/

     Spoon Theory Origin (archived): https://web.archive.org/web/20191117210039/https://butyoudontlooksick.com/articles/written-by-christine/the-spoon-theory/ (includes a link to a PDF of the original article)

     Spoon Theory: https://www.healthline.com/health/spoon-theory-chronic-illness-explained-like-never-before#6

     Language: https://www.bbc.com/worklife/article/20210330-the-harmful-ableist-language-you-unknowingly-use?xtor=ES-213-[BBC%20Features%20Newsletter]-2021April13-[Worklife%7c+Button

     Ableism TED Talk: https://www.ted.com/talks/alyson_seale_purposeful_steps_away_from_ableism

 

 

Microaggressions

     TED Talk: https://www.ted.com/talks/whitney_grinnage_cassidy_why_microaggressions_aren_t_so_micro

     Microaggressions in Librarianship (anonymous space to share microaggressions): https://lismicroaggressions.com/

 

 

EDI-Related Library Blogs/Podcasts

     LibVoices: https://anchor.fm/libvoices

 

 

Hiring Practices

     Bias in hiring: https://hr.uw.edu/diversity/hiring/bias-and-hiring/

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software