Log in

Flicker Tale Award

Log in

What is Flicker Tale? 

Flicker Tale is a statewide library participation program encouraging readers and librarians to provide their input on a favorite read. At the end of the program, the book/author with the highest score is granted a North Dakota Library Association recognition award... the Flicker Tale!

How does it work?

The Flicker Tale Committee has chosen books in three categories. You and/or your library's readers will not be restricted to any category based on age or grade level. Rather, we hope the categories will encourage children to read books of their choice at a particular interest or ability level. We encourage all of the young people (and the not-so-young people) to read the books and vote in any category they choose.

Please note: Participants do not have to vote on every category.

Each participating school and library is responsible for tallying votes and submitting totals to the Flicker Tale Chair by the program deadline. All ballots are due April 30th.

Please feel free to submit any book suggestions at any time using the Flicker Tale Nomination Form.

How to Vote!

Library participants should:

  1. Choose a category
  2. Read each of the nominated books
  3. Vote for their favorite read

Libraries/Librarians should:

  1. Create a method of voting that works for your students/library
  2. Tally the votes for each book
  3.  By April 30th, 2024, send your library's totals to Amber Emery   

(Or mail to: Amber Emery, Fargo Public Library, 102 3rd Street North, Fargo, ND 58102)


Thank you for your participation!

2025 Nominees


Who will be the next...

2024 Flicker Tale Winners

With over 4500 votes, the 2024 winners are...

Young Readers

Bathe the Cat by Alice B. McGinty, illus. by David Roberts

Middle Readers

Amari and the Night Brothers by B.B. Alston

As always, thank you to all of the students, librarians, and teachers who participated in this year's voting

It's exciting to think that so many kids across the state have read and interacted with all of the nominated titles. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software