Log in

RoN Rudser Memorial Continuing Education Grant

Log in

Ron Rudser was a librarian and library science instructor at Minot State University at the time of his death in 1986. This memorial grant fund was initiated by his wife, Kaye. According to the grant documentation, the Ron Rudser Memorial Continuing Education Grant "awards may be made for credit courses, workshops, seminars or preconference programs that enhance the education of a practicing librarian in any type of library. Regular conference programs or conventions do not qualify."

Each year, one awardee may be granted up to $1250.

Current Professional Development Committee members are not eligible to apply for grants. The 2023 Section Chairs are also ineligible to apply for grants, as they will become members of the Committee in January 2024 and will be voting on the grant awardees.

2024 Grant

The 2024 grant application period will open on October 9, 2023. Applications will close at 11:59 p.m. on January 7, 2024.


  • Applicants must be a current member of NDLA and have been a member of NDLA for the past two years (24 months).
  • Applicants must be residents of or employed in North Dakota.
  • Applications must currently be a "practicing librarian in any type of library."
  • Applicants are required to submit the following documentation along with the application:
    • detailed budget of expected expenses,
    • narrative describing personal growth and career development expectations from the proposed program, and
    • printed materials that describe the program.
  • Applicants may not receive more than one grant within any 24-month period.
  • Awardee agrees to submit an evaluative report to the NDLA Executive Board about how the grant was used. The report will also be published in The Good Stuff. Grant money will be awarded after the evaluative report has been received by the NDLA President. A copy of CEU certificate or letter of recognition should accompany the report, if applicable.
  • A portion of expenses (dependent upon the NDLA budget) will be reimbursed upon completion of travel.

  • Awardee and NDLA will enter into a written contract regarding completion of conditions.


Past Awardees

2004Marvia Boettcher
Sally Dockter
2003 Mary Jo Lorenz 

2002 Mary Bianco 

2000Donna James 

1999 Konnie Wightman 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software