Log in

ndla EQuity, Diversity, and Inclusion Grant

Log in

NDLA believes that equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI) are important values for North Dakota libraries. Therefore furthering NDLA staff’s education with regards to EDI is beneficial to the North Dakota Library environment. Each year NDLA sets aside general fund dollars for this purpose. The EDI grant may be used for conference funding, increasing diversity in library collections, conducting diversity audits, hosting training for library staff on EDI, hosting library programming or speakers, or participation in any other work that may benefit equity, diversity, and inclusion in the library community of North Dakota.

Each year, one awardee may be granted up to $600. Applications will be assessed against our EDI Grant Rubric.

2024 Grant

The 2024 grant application period will open on October 2, 2024. Applications will close at the end of the day on December 6, 2024.


  • Applicants must be an active member of NDLA and have been a member of NDLA for the past year.
  • Applicants must be residents of or employed in North Dakota.
  • Applicants do not need to currently be employed in a library.
  • Applicants are required to submit the following documentation along with the application:
    • detailed budget of expected expenses,
    • narrative describing personal growth and career development expectations from the proposed program, and
    • printed materials that describe the program.
  • Applicants may not receive more than one grant within any 24-month period.
  • Awardee agrees to submit an evaluative report to the NDLA Executive Board about how the grant was used. The report will also be published in The Good Stuff. Grant money will typically be awarded after the evaluative report has been received by the NDLA President. If this presents any difficulties please reach out to to discuss alternatives.
  • Awardee and NDLA will enter into a written contract regarding completion of conditions. If the awardee is unable to spend funds on their proposed development, money must be returned to the Executive Board.


Past Awardees

 Year Awardee(s)
 2023 Jennifer Hausauer

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software