Log in

Log in

Log In Here

  • March 08, 2022 12:46 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    Angels Over the Rooftop by Bill Kraft ($12, 9 p., softcover)

    Bill Kraft grew up in the Germans from Russia community of Strasburg in south central North Dakota in the 1940s and 1950s. In Angels Over the Rooftop, he shares his childhood memories of Christmas Eve, including mass at Saints Peter and Paul Catholic Church, and traditions such as the Belzanickle (a fur-clad Christmas gift giver). Laura Kraft illustrated the book. Angels Over the Rooftop is available from the GRHC Library Marketplace.

    Bear’s Braid (KuūNUx Saripiíšu̕) by Joelle Bearstail ($14.95, 38 p., hardcover)

    Bear’s Braid blends “discussions of modern indigeneity and universal experiences of bullying and resilience.” For Bear and his friend Ben, the braids they wear are an expression of their native heritage and a crucial part of their identities, but it’s hard to take the mocking jibes and bullying they get from some of their schoolmates. Bear confides in his grandma, and, with her help, he and Ben come up with a plan to “strengthen their connection to their roots while also bridging the gap between their schoolmates and their families.” First-time author Joelle Bearstail (Hidatsa name Bullberry Woman) is Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara from the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation. Bear’s Braid was illustrated by Denise Tadlock and is available from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and ImagiNative.

    The Complete History of Bismarck, North Dakota: Frontier to Metropolis by Randy Hoffman (317 p., $22.95, hardcover; $18.95, softcover).

    The Complete History of Bismarck, North Dakota: Frontier to Metropolis is organized chronologically and includes many B & W photographs that will bring back memories for Bismarck residents. Author Randy Hoffman has a passion for history and his roots in Bismarck run deep. He is a fifth-generation Bismarck resident, and his family has been in the city since the 1890s. Hoffman is also the author of The Bismarck-Mandan Encyclopedia (2020). For more information, visit The Complete History of Bismarck is available from Amazon.

    Our Family Farm: Cows on the Moooove! by Dana Sullivan ($16.95, hardcover)

    The third book in the Our Family Farm series from the North Dakota Farmers Union is now available. Cows on the Moooove! ($16.95, hardcover) by Dana Sullivan tells a tale of Daisy and her calf. Toward the end of calving season when it’s time to move the herd, they run into unexpected danger. Will Daisy be able to protect her calf and join the herd? You will have to order the book to find out! Cows on the Moooove! and the other books in the series, Everyone Works on a Family Farm and The Early Snow, are available online from Union Farmer | North Dakota Farmers Union (

    Dakota Datebook: North Dakota Stories from Prairie Public, Vol. 2 ($24.95, softcover)

    North Dakota history comes alive with “366 memorable stories” … “as heard on Prairie Public’s Dakota Datebook radio series.” You will delight in the photos and the stories of “sensational heroes, entertaining characters, extraordinary animals, noteworthy events and delightful destinations that represent the spirit of our state.” The book is available from Prairie Public.

    The Fargo Fire of 1893 by Danielle Teigen ($21.99, 139 p., paperback; $11.49, Nook; $12.99, Kindle)

    This book tells the story of the devastating fire that consumed more than 30 blocks of the city on a Wednesday afternoon in June 1893. Author and journalist Danielle Teigen digs deep and shares the details of how the fire started, how the landscape of the city was drastically changed, and how the residents of Fargo responded with resilience as they undertook the effort to rebuild and recover. Teigen is also the author of Hidden History of Fargo (2017). The Fargo Fire of 1893 is available from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and DakotaBookNet.

    I’m a Spinosaurus, Bigger than a T-Rex by Katherine Pendergast and Carter Pendergast ($16.95, hardcover)

    Bismarck’s Katherine Pendergast and her six-year-old son, Carter Pendergast, turned his love of dinosaurs and dreams of becoming a paleontologist into a children’s book. I’m a Spinosaurus, Bigger than a T-Rex is filled with fun facts and wonderful full-color illustrations of the “Spine Lizard.” Katherine Pendergast is also the author of the Pickles the Dog series and Babies of the Badlands. Her books are available from, Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

    Koming to Amerika: An Immigrant's Story by Claus Lembke (275 p., softcover $20)

    Over the years, many people told Claus Lembke, "You ought to write a book!" Now he has done just that. Claus Lembke was 22 when he immigrated to America in 1965 to farm with his uncle near Wolverton, Minnesota.  “Born in Nazi-occupied Poland, his mother had Danish heritage and he grew up farming with his father in West Germany. After finishing a degree in agriculture and serving in the German Army under the NATO Command, he boarded a ship and sailed across the ocean to a new life.”  In his book, Lembke writes about his childhood, his military service, farming in Minnesota, moving to Fargo to begin a career in real estate, moving to Bismarck to become the CEO of the North Dakota Association of Realtors, raising a family, and his family’s involvement in community and political activities. Koming to Amerika, with a foreword by former North Dakota Governor Jack Dalrymple, is available from

    The Nineties: A Book by Chuck Klosterman ($24, hardcover; $14.99, Nook)

    North Dakota native Chuck Klosterman writes about pop culture and has a talent for “cultural observation and historical clue gathering.” His new book, The Nineties, is hot off the press (release date: February 8, 2022). In a starred review (Dec. 1, 2021), Booklist said: “Wonderfully researched, compellingly written, and often very funny, this is a superb reassessment of an underappreciated decade from a stupendously gifted essayist.” Klosterman’s first book, Fargo Rock City: A Heavy Metal Odyssey in Rural North Dakota, was published in 2001. Since then, he has penned several others pieces for popular publications on various media platforms. The Nineties is widely available in bookstores and online from Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

    North Dakota's Polar Pilot: The Heroic Story of Carl Ben Eielson from Hatton by Paulette Bullinger and Kevin Kremer ($19.95, 220 p., softcover)

    This read-aloud chapter book may be written for young readers but is sure to inspire readers of all ages. North Dakota’s Polar Pilot tells the story of North Dakota native Carl Ben Eielson and his journey to become known as the Father of Alaskan Aviation. Born in 1897, Eielson became a world-famous pilot and a promoter of early aviation in Alaska. The book includes many photos of Eielson, his boyhood home in Hatton (now a museum), and his aviation exploits.  North Dakota’s Polar Pilot is available from - Home.

    Prairie Princess by Jessie Veeder ($20, 28 p., hardcover)

    North Dakota musician and writer Jessie Veeder’s latest book was inspired by her own childhood on her family’s ranch near Watford City in northwestern North Dakota. The book, illustrated by North Dakota artist Daphne Johnson Clark, features a little girl who “celebrates the prairie and why she calls it home … and reminds us of what it's like to be captivated and responsible for a place.” To order Prairie Princess as well as Veeder’s first book, Coming Home (2017), and her music, visit Jessie Veeder ( or - Home.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software